Horde3D

Next-Generation Graphics Engine
It is currently 14.05.2024, 16:04

All times are UTC + 1 hour

Post subject: Horde as a renderer
PostPosted: 24.04.2008, 22:06 

Hi,

I would like to use Horde as a renderer of static images.
I'm new to 3d and I guess this could be a nice start.

I would need to render the scene using soft shadows and full reflections, using if possible hardware acceleration.
Basically I would like to program a command line application the would work this way:

%> hordeRenderer scene_file output_image

My question is, is there a format understood by Horde that can describe an entire scene? once i've got my scene ready, how can I render it on an image file using Horde?
I would prefer not to have any windows open on the screen.

Thanks
Dan

Post subject: Re: Horde as a renderer
PostPosted: 25.04.2008, 01:34 

Hi,

I would like to mention that Horde is a real-time renderer. You will get better results (image quality) if you used a ray-trace renderer like http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/YafRay this type of renderer produces much better quality images, specially in terms of reflections and shadows, there are many high quality algorithms that are not real time friendly.

There are many open source and commercial ray-trace renderers.

PostPosted: 25.04.2008, 01:42 

Eeeeeehhhhhhhh...

one by one:

Quote:
I would like to use Horde as a renderer of static images.

That's doable. You could use more complicated shaders and pipelines.

Quote:
I would need to render the scene using soft shadows and full reflections, using if possible hardware acceleration.

You'd have to write shaders for soft shadows, you'd have to write shaders and C code for reflections. Of course it'd use hardware acceleration.

Commandline, no brainer.

Quote:
My question is, is there a format understood by Horde that can describe an entire scene?

Yeap, the scene.xml.

Quote:
once i've got my scene ready, how can I render it on an image file using Horde?