Horde3D

Next-Generation Graphics Engine
It is currently 14.05.2024, 12:01

All times are UTC + 1 hour

PostPosted: 17.05.2009, 14:49 

Hey Folks,

I recently have discovered the Horde3D engine. I absolutely love this project. The API is totally my style, the source code is clean, and the entire design philosophy is in-line with everything I have been looking for in an OSS cross-platform 3D engine.

I have been working on a game off and on for a couple of years now (yes, I am a perpetual hobbyist like most programmers :) ). And I have resorted to writing my own graphics system due to the over-bloated offerings out there (Ogre3D, Irrlicht, CrystalSpace, are all yucky in one way or another.) Of course, being a lone programmer, my graphics engine is effective, but pretty simple as far as the functionality it offers. I would love to replace my old graphics engine with Horde3D, but I am not ready to commit yet given some uncertainties I have about it's capabilities.

My engine relies on a very large tiled world. Tiles being scene nodes (containing geometry, particles, etc.) which are instanced across a grid. I use a simple flood-fill style algorithm to render only the chunks currently visible to the camera. The end result is a very large world, made up of a limited collection of scene nodes. Similar tiling schemes are used in many games, for example:

I am wondering if it is possible to set up such a system with Horde3D "out of the box", or will it require modification of the engine (using the extension mechanism I suppose)?

Further, how complicated would such a system be to set up? I am really looking for as painless a transition as possible with out having to wade well into the guts of Horde3D and spend weeks hacking this out.

On another note...

I use Blender3D exclusively as my modeling environment. I have seen the export script, is it reliable? I have seen some complaints as to how useful it is? What is the current state of Blender3D support?