Horde3D

Next-Generation Graphics Engine
It is currently 19.04.2024, 02:30

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: 24.10.2009, 23:25 
Offline

Joined: 20.10.2009, 22:23
Posts: 2
Hello,
Im just curious,
Do author of horde3d planning to make new functions for creating resources directly by c++ functions
instead XML,GEO,ANIM files???

i meant functions like:

pseudo codes for materials (instead of *.material.xml files):
Code:
id = h3dCreateMaterial();
h3dSetMaterialShaderSource(id,buffer_model_shader_program);
h3dSetMaterialShaderFlags(id,_F01_Skinning);
h3dSetMaterialShaderFlags(id,_F04_EnvMapping);
h3dSetMaterialSampler(id,albedoMap,resourceID_to_texture);


and (insted of *.geo files).

Code:
id = h3dCreateModel();
h3dSetGeometryBuffer(id,vertexbuffer,vertexlen,indexbuffer,indexlen);
h3dSetSubset(id,id_of_subset, vertexstart, vertexend, batchstart, batchend);
h3dSetPivotOfBone(id,bone_id,Matrix4f *pivot);


and (instead of *.anim files)

Code:
id = h3dCreateAnimation();
h3dSetListOfPositionsForBone(id,bone_id,(vec3f_and_time_t *)positions_with_frame,count);
h3dSetListOfRotationsForBone(id,bone_id,(vec3f_and_time_t *)rotations_with_frame,count);
h3dSetListOfScalingForBone(id,bone_id,(vec3f_and_time_t *)rotations_with_frame,count);


that would be cool and interesting, because i could create my own fileformats
binary files instead of xml, my own Model3D geometry instead of .GEO.
Or could be easiest create add-ons for loading weird model3d fileformats, like: .b3d, .obj, .bsp, etc....
also would be less problems with exporters for .GEO files.

Now i ask, there is any plans about this in future? ;)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: 25.10.2009, 08:58 
Offline
Tool Developer

Joined: 13.11.2007, 11:07
Posts: 1150
Location: Germany
I think something like this could be handy, but should be not part of the core library. Maybe we can add something like that to the Utils library.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: 25.10.2009, 10:01 
Offline
Engine Developer

Joined: 10.09.2006, 15:52
Posts: 1217
We will add API functions like h3dCreateMaterial and h3dCreateGeometry for the next version of Horde. The data of an existing resource can be set with our current resource API (e.g. h3dSetResParamI).


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: 22.11.2009, 22:34 
Offline

Joined: 22.11.2009, 22:32
Posts: 6
marciano wrote:
We will add API functions like h3dCreateMaterial and h3dCreateGeometry for the next version of Horde. The data of an existing resource can be set with our current resource API (e.g. h3dSetResParamI).


What is the approximate timeline for this? I'm thinking about using Horde3D, and this would be a very important feature for me.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: 23.11.2009, 00:10 
Offline
Engine Developer

Joined: 10.09.2006, 15:52
Posts: 1217
If these functions are required, they can be added very quickly. They don't do anything complicated in the end ;)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: 23.11.2009, 00:20 
Offline

Joined: 08.11.2006, 03:10
Posts: 384
Location: Australia
In an older version of Horde, I had written a "h3dCreateGeometry" type function for creating resources. It doesn't work with the latest file formats though, of course :wink:

I would love to see this in the next Beta release.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: 23.11.2009, 07:31 
Offline

Joined: 22.11.2009, 22:32
Posts: 6
marciano wrote:
If these functions are required, they can be added very quickly. They don't do anything complicated in the end ;)

Which is why I was kinda hoping for an estimate along the lines of "very soon" for the svn version :wink:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: 24.11.2009, 00:48 
Offline
Engine Developer

Joined: 10.09.2006, 15:52
Posts: 1217
DarkAngel wrote:
In an older version of Horde, I had written a "h3dCreateGeometry" type function for creating resources. It doesn't work with the latest file formats though, of course :wink:

Basically there are two options: h3dCreateGeometry could create a full in-memory geo file. In that case the function would require all geometry data (vertex streams, indices, etc.) to be passed. The other alternative is that the function would just create an empty resource with preallocated data structures that can be filled with the resource API. So the function would just take the number of vertices, triangles, etc. as input.

Hopefully we find the time to implement a basic version this or next week...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 31 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group