Horde3D
http://www.horde3d.org/forums/

XML/GEO meshes, how can i do it?
http://www.horde3d.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=2256
Page 1 of 1

Author:  dPGames [ 12.04.2014, 16:21 ]
Post subject:  XML/GEO meshes, how can i do it?

Hello, guys. Excuse me for necropost (i think that same topic was opened yet) and my English (not native lang).

How can i make XML/GEO meshes, using 3DSMax? Is there some plugins or converters from .max, .x or 3ds? Can i use other model types, like .x or .3ds? And what is .geo format?

And additive question about rotation of node (Sphere in Knight Sample). How can i do 360 rotation of sphere? Euler angles that used in engine can be from -90 to 90, it is 180. I need 360.

Thanks for your help.

Author:  Irdis [ 12.04.2014, 19:02 ]
Post subject:  Re: XML/GEO meshes, how can i do it?

Get OpenCollada. Install plugin for your max version. In your scene select the objects you want to export, or just click File-Export-OpenCollada format (.dae). Select "Sample Animation" if you want to export animation.
Launch the .bat file that comes with the ColladaConverter from Binaries/Win32. Put the exported dae file in the same directory where the ColladaConverter. Type the name of the dae file in the command line window and ColladaConverter will generate scene(xml) and geo files.

Play a bit with the location of the dae file, because ColladaConverter generates relative paths according to file position. For example, if ColladaConverter.exe is in C: and dae file is in C:/models, then ColladaConverter will write paths to all xml files as "models/file".

2) Just keep incrementing the rotation value. Horde may convert the value after 90 degrees, but you should get what you want.

Author:  dPGames [ 13.04.2014, 10:37 ]
Post subject:  Re: XML/GEO meshes, how can i do it?

Thank you, it does work with Max.
I keeping it incrementing, but when rotation becomes more than 90 (or less than -90) it looks like sphere rotates in my value and then rotates to 90.

Author:  Volker [ 14.04.2014, 19:38 ]
Post subject:  Re: XML/GEO meshes, how can i do it?

Sounds like a gimbalock problem

Author:  dPGames [ 14.04.2014, 20:22 ]
Post subject:  Re: XML/GEO meshes, how can i do it?

Hi, Volker. Your engine is awesome, i loved it. It is beauty and easier than other engines. Thanks to you for your giant work. :D

Sounds like whatlock problem? And how may i solve it?

Author:  Irdis [ 14.04.2014, 21:41 ]
Post subject:  Re: XML/GEO meshes, how can i do it?

See here (Rus version). Here are some links that may help you to better understand the problem:
http://blog.animationmentor.com/animation-tip-identifying-managing-and-preventing-gimbal-lock/
http://gamedev.stackexchange.com/questions/51410/how-to-avoid-gimbal-lock
http://answers.unity3d.com/questions/573035/avoiding-gimbal-lock.html
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/6325689/rotate-3d-euler-point-using-quaternions-to-avoid-gimbal-lock

If you're doing a procedural rotation, you'll probably have to use matrix transform via h3dSetNodeTransMat. If you're doing rotation in Max and export it as animation, you shouldn't meet this problem as Horde uses quaternions for animation.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC + 1 hour
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
https://www.phpbb.com/