Horde3D
http://www.horde3d.org/forums/

hide node but not its children
http://www.horde3d.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=401
Page 1 of 1

Author:  jimbo [ 09.07.2008, 21:12 ]
Post subject:  hide node but not its children

How can I hide a node but not it's children? For example, I have a moving node with several particle systems as children. Now the node explodes and must be hidden (and removed later on) but the particle systems remain active. I could loop over all children and set a new parent before exploding, but is there simpler way?

Author:  Volker [ 09.07.2008, 23:04 ]
Post subject:  Re: hide node but not its children

There are two possibilities. The first is to add a parameter recursive to the setNodeActivation method, the second is to create a group node where the model is attached in parallel to the emitters. This way you can disable the node and not the emitters while changing the transformation of the model and the emitters by using the group node.

Author:  DarkAngel [ 10.07.2008, 01:24 ]
Post subject:  Re: hide node but not its children

Volker wrote:
There are two possibilities. The first is to add a parameter recursive to the setNodeActivation method
Wait, isn't that bad? It doesn't make sense to be able to hide a node but still have parts of it (i.e. the child nodes) visible.

Quote:
the second is to create a group node where the model is attached in parallel to the emitters. This way you can disable the node and not the emitters while changing the transformation of the model and the emitters by using the group node
That's what I would suggest.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC + 1 hour
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
https://www.phpbb.com/