Horde3D http://www.horde3d.org/forums/ |
|
MacOS X http://www.horde3d.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=288 |
Page 1 of 2 |
Author: | Vurlix [ 17.04.2008, 13:39 ] |
Post subject: | MacOS X |
I will keep this thread updated with links to MacOS X builds of the SDK. Horde3D-1.0.0-beta1-osx Known issues: Chicago and Knight samples render incorrectly on NVidia 8800 GTS (and possibly others). Issue appears to be related to the AMBIENT shader contexts of skinning.shader.xml and parallax.shader.xml. |
Author: | Vurlix [ 24.06.2008, 16:43 ] |
Post subject: | Re: MacOS X |
I've been having a lot of trouble running Horde on my system ever since the 0.1.15. With 1.0 betas, it's gotten worse. I've tried (unsuccessfully) figuring it out.. When I try to run any of the samples (as of svn r34), they crash at startup: Code: (gdb) bt #0 0x93af755e in glgConvertTo_32<GLGConverter_RGB8_ARGB8, (GLGMemory)2> () #1 0x93af4eb3 in glgProcessPixelsWithProcessor () #2 0x13fa582a in gldAllocVertexBuffer () #3 0x13fa65ce in gldGetTextureLevel () #4 0x0073bd14 in gleGenMipmaps () #5 0x006147c1 in glTexImage2D_Exec () #6 0x943b09cb in glTexImage2D () #7 0x001e282b in RendererBase::uploadTextureCube (this=0x87a800, pixels=0xbffff45c, width=4, height=4, comps=24, hdr=false, cubeFace=5, allowCompression=false, mipmaps=true, filtering=true, texId=4) at Horde3D/Source/Horde3DEngine/egRendererBase.cpp:268 #8 0x001f8502 in TextureCubeResource::initializationFunc () at Horde3D/Source/Horde3DEngine/egTextures.cpp:333 #9 0x001e4b4a in ResourceManager::registerType (this=0x481970, type=8, typeString=@0xbffff550, inf=0x1f8358 <TextureCubeResource::initializationFunc()>, rf=0x1f8514 <TextureCubeResource::releaseFunc()>, ff=0x1abb22 <TextureCubeResource::factoryFunc(std::string const&, int)>) at Horde3D/Source/Horde3DEngine/egResource.cpp:168 #10 0x001a9dc5 in init () at Horde3D/Source/Horde3DEngine/egMain.cpp:104 #11 0x000035c1 in Application::init (this=0x873600) at Horde3D/Samples/Chicago/app.cpp:47 #12 0x00005ad3 in main (argc=1, argv=0xbffff6f8) at Horde3D/Samples/Chicago/main.cpp:163 From what I could gather from debugging, all the pointers seem valid and everything should work but... Obviously something is wrong. When commenting out the TextureCube resource type registration, like so: Code: /* Modules::resMan().registerType( ResourceTypes::TextureCube, "TextureCube", TextureCubeResource::initializationFunc, TextureCubeResource::releaseFunc, TextureCubeResource::factoryFunc ); */ The samples run but the cubemapping doesn't work. Terrain sample works fine without cubemapping, though. This is on top of the previous issues I've already been having.. |
Author: | swiftcoder [ 24.06.2008, 16:54 ] |
Post subject: | Re: MacOS X |
Vurlix wrote: I've been having a lot of trouble running Horde on my system ever since the 0.1.15. With 1.0 betas, it's gotten worse. I've tried (unsuccessfully) figuring it out.. When I try to run any of the samples (as of svn r34), they crash at startup... Looks like you have driver issues with cubemaps - is this also affecting any commercial games? They are all running perfectly on my ATI card (although I haven't tried the latest from SVN.
|
Author: | Vurlix [ 24.06.2008, 17:27 ] |
Post subject: | Re: MacOS X |
Only 3d game I have on the mac side is quake3, and it works fine. |
Author: | kal [ 24.06.2008, 18:41 ] |
Post subject: | Re: MacOS X |
I do not think q3 uses cubemaps. edit: http://svn.icculus.org/quake3/trunk/cod ... iew=markup no cubemaps |
Author: | swiftcoder [ 24.06.2008, 18:56 ] |
Post subject: | Re: MacOS X |
Vurlix wrote: Only 3d game I have on the mac side is quake3, and it works fine. Grab the Unreal Tournament 2004 Demo. Pretty sure they use cubemaps for all the environments. |
Author: | Vurlix [ 25.06.2008, 15:28 ] |
Post subject: | Re: MacOS X |
This thread on the OGRE forums seems to be relevant: http://www.ogre3d.org/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=290454 |
Author: | swiftcoder [ 25.06.2008, 17:48 ] |
Post subject: | Re: MacOS X |
Vurlix wrote: This thread on the OGRE forums seems to be relevant: http://www.ogre3d.org/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=290454 Sharp eyes there! Ja, looks as though we need a fallback to software mipmap generation as well.
|
Author: | Vurlix [ 25.06.2008, 20:30 ] |
Post subject: | Re: MacOS X |
Seems so. Horde *does* work with mipmaps disabled. Or Nvidia could just fix their broken drivers! ![]() |
Author: | swiftcoder [ 25.06.2008, 21:16 ] |
Post subject: | Re: MacOS X |
Vurlix wrote: Or Nvidia could just fix their broken drivers! Ja, fat chance of that - especially if they haven't fixed the problem on Windows yet ![]() ![]() |
Author: | Vurlix [ 26.06.2008, 20:10 ] |
Post subject: | Re: MacOS X |
Anyway, here's a small patch to make horde svn r35 build on OSX. This should go into the main source tree. Code: diff -r 86da40d3823b -r 5d9af7f740e5 Horde3D/Dependencies/Source/glfw/macosx/platform.h
--- a/Horde3D/Dependencies/Source/glfw/macosx/platform.h Tue Jun 24 10:24:01 2008 -0400 +++ b/Horde3D/Dependencies/Source/glfw/macosx/platform.h Thu Jun 26 15:02:05 2008 -0400 @@ -43,7 +43,7 @@ #include <sched.h> #include <pthread.h> #include <sys/sysctl.h> -#include "../../Include/glfw.h" +#include "../../../Include/glfw.h" //======================================================================== diff -r 86da40d3823b -r 5d9af7f740e5 Horde3D/Source/Horde3DEngine/utImage.cpp --- a/Horde3D/Source/Horde3DEngine/utImage.cpp Tue Jun 24 10:24:01 2008 -0400 +++ b/Horde3D/Source/Horde3DEngine/utImage.cpp Thu Jun 26 15:02:05 2008 -0400 @@ -94,7 +94,9 @@ #include <memory.h> #include <assert.h> #include <stdarg.h> +#if defined(__i386__) || defined(__x86_64__) #include <emmintrin.h> +#endif #ifndef _MSC_VER #define __forceinline diff -r 86da40d3823b -r 5d9af7f740e5 Horde3D/Source/Horde3DUtils/main.cpp --- a/Horde3D/Source/Horde3DUtils/main.cpp Tue Jun 24 10:24:01 2008 -0400 +++ b/Horde3D/Source/Horde3DUtils/main.cpp Thu Jun 26 15:02:05 2008 -0400 @@ -30,7 +30,9 @@ # define WIN32_LEAN_AND_MEAN 1 # include <windows.h> #endif +#ifndef PLATFORM_MAC #include <GL/gl.h> +#endif #include <cstdlib> #include <cstring> #include <string> |
Author: | Volker [ 27.06.2008, 13:19 ] |
Post subject: | Re: MacOS X |
Thanks for that, I commited it with some slight adjustments. |
Author: | swiftcoder [ 05.07.2008, 18:12 ] |
Post subject: | Re: MacOS X |
Ok, I just got the SVN head building on Mac. No real troubles, except for troubles with GLFW and paths - I will get a patch together soon. Ignore the patch previously in this message, it was over complex. |
Author: | swiftcoder [ 07.07.2008, 00:52 ] |
Post subject: | Re: MacOS X |
Here is a correct patch for the generatePath() function in the main.cpp of each sample. This does not require a patched GLFW, and can be applied directly to the SVN head. Code: string generatePath(char p[], const string& file) { #ifdef __APPLE__ string s(p); for (int i = 0; i < 4; i++) s = s.substr(0, s.rfind("/")); return s + "/" + file; #else const string s( p ); if ( s.find("/") != string::npos) { return s.substr( 0, s.rfind( "/" ) ) + "/" + file; } else if ( s.find("\\") != string::npos ) { return s.substr( 0, s.rfind( "\\" ) ) + "\\" + file; } else { return file; } #endif } Rationale: Mac argv[0] looks like this '/Applications/Knight.app/Contents/MacOS/Knight', so we have to strip off 4 slashes to get the actuall parent directory. This is because Mac applications are actually directories disguised as files. |
Author: | Volker [ 09.07.2008, 07:40 ] |
Post subject: | Re: MacOS X |
Thanks for the patch. I integrated it into the SVN. |
Page 1 of 2 | All times are UTC + 1 hour |
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group https://www.phpbb.com/ |