Horde3D

Next-Generation Graphics Engine
It is currently 20.05.2024, 05:41

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Framebuffer multisample
PostPosted: 11.03.2008, 16:09 
Offline

Joined: 17.02.2008, 21:08
Posts: 24
Location: Switzerland
Hi,

I've made a patch to add framebuffer multisample to the engine. It's up here:

http://www.jareiko.net/code/framebuffer_multisample-reiko-20080311.patch

Any comments?

Remaining issues:
* I haven't tested it on multiple color attachments
* It would also be useful to add a hint to the pipeline target whether the depth buffer needs to be resolved to a texture. At the moment, a multisample depth buffer will always be downsampled to a texture, even if that texture is not needed.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 11.03.2008, 19:19 
Offline
Engine Developer

Joined: 10.09.2006, 15:52
Posts: 1217
Very nice, thanks a lot! :)

Since my current project is high-quality facial rendering I could really profit from anti-aliasing. I will take a look at the code in the next time...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 11.03.2008, 21:57 
Offline
Engine Developer

Joined: 10.09.2006, 15:52
Posts: 1217
I have just integrated your patch. The code was almost perfectly clean and consistent with the engine style. I just did a quick test (which was working) but I will try it out more precisely another day.

Excellent work, thank you very much again! :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 12.03.2008, 17:35 
Offline

Joined: 17.02.2008, 21:08
Posts: 24
Location: Switzerland
No problem :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 12.03.2008, 17:48 
Offline

Joined: 17.02.2008, 21:08
Posts: 24
Location: Switzerland
By the way, I just noticed that you have .suo files in svn. These are Visual Studio's user option files, and probably shouldn't be in svn, since they will interfere with other Visual Studio users' .suo files when they sync the repository. They contain interface settings like which tree folders are expanded in the project, preferences, etc.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 12.03.2008, 19:22 
Offline
Engine Developer

Joined: 10.09.2006, 15:52
Posts: 1217
Yeah I know, Volker was already complaining about that too. The suo file also stores the files opened in the editor. When I'm working on different machines, I just find it useful to see directly which files I have modified most recently. That's why the suo is still in the repository.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 12.03.2008, 21:30 
Offline

Joined: 22.11.2007, 17:05
Posts: 707
Location: Boston, MA
marciano wrote:
Yeah I know, Volker was already complaining about that too. The suo file also stores the files opened in the editor. When I'm working on different machines, I just find it useful to see directly which files I have modified most recently. That's why the suo is still in the repository.

Wouldn't the SVN log fulfil the same function?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 13.03.2008, 09:25 
Offline
Engine Developer

Joined: 10.09.2006, 15:52
Posts: 1217
swiftcoder wrote:
Wouldn't the SVN log fulfil the same function?


Yes it would. Having the suo in the respository is nice when you are the only developer (working on different machines) but for more people it does not make much sense.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 19.03.2008, 23:10 
Offline
Engine Developer

Joined: 10.09.2006, 15:52
Posts: 1217
I just wanted the remove the suo file from the svn and now I remember why I had added it originally. It stores the configuration (debug/release) and the start project and I wanted that people just have to hit F5 after loading the solution from the SDK for the first time.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: 25.09.2009, 19:25 
Offline

Joined: 09.09.2009, 00:13
Posts: 12
Did you get to test multisampled FBO with multiple color attachment?.

I did some initial testing and only get antialiasing in the first color attachment (colBuf0).

Do you know if there is an actual limitation with this? :)

_________________
r3D^rgba


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: 28.09.2009, 00:18 
Offline
Engine Developer

Joined: 10.09.2006, 15:52
Posts: 1217
Honestly we never tested MSAA with multiple render targets, so it is well possible that it is broken or not implemented properly :) We need to check that.

For multiple render targets it makes sense to add optional support for the new ARB_texture_multisample extension as well. This would make it possible to do MSAA with deferred shading (on GL3/D3D10 hardware).


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group